Academics and Training for the Advancement of Cybersecurity Knowledge in Puerto Rico (ATACK-PR)

Scholarship for Cybersecurity Excellence


One of the main components of this program is the Scholarship for Cybersecurity Excellence.  These scholarships will be awarded to computer science students performing research and/or developent in cybersecurity topics at the University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras (UPR-RP). 

The scholarships will be in the amount of $1,250 per semester or $2,500 per year.  The scholarship will be paid per semester, at the end of each semester, and subject to a students final technical report, academic progress, and attendance to mentor meetings and project activities.



  1. Being a full time CS student and a US-Citizen or Permanent Residents.
  2. One academic letter of reference from the Cybersecurity research and/or development mentor.  
  3. A one page essay outlining career and research experience and goals, and interest in security.
  4. Academic transcripts.
  5. Any student may be called for an interview.

  6. The chosen scholars will be required to be enrolled in a Cybersecurity course (if one is being given, and not already taken)
  7. The chosen scholars will be required to participate in mentor group meetings, and other program activities (talks, workshops, school visits, open houses, Capture the flag (CTF) competitions, evaluation of educational materials).  The chosen scholars will also be required to present their work in local conferences. 
  8. The chosen scholars will be encouraged to seek for summer research experiences in Cybersecurity.
  9. The scholars will be required to participate in surveys conducted by the project and/or program evaluators as part of project-level and program evaluation efforts.

Student Application form here !!!! (print and sign)

Mentor Reference form here !!!!

The deadline to submit scholarship applications for Fall 2016 is:  Friday August 26, 2016. 
The application MUST be submitted to Rosa Santiago in the department of Computer Science with attention to Dr. José Ortiz-Ubarri.